Uber expands to 21 more South African towns and cities


Uber Technologies has announced a huge expansion of its operating base in South Africa, launching in 21 of the country’s smaller cities and towns, and reaching 80% of the urban population.

The move doubles the number of urban centres in which Uber operates in South Africa to more than 40.

The new cities and towns where Uber is now available are:

  • Polokwane
  • Cape West Coast (Vredenburg, Saldanha, Langebaan)
  • Nelspruit
  • Newcastle
  • Mthatha
  • Thohoyandou
  • Upington
  • Margate
  • Richards Bay
  • Welkom
  • Phuthaditjhaba
  • Ermelo
  • Queenstown
  • Garden Route (Mossel Bay, George, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay)
  • Kimberley
  • Emalahleni
  • Middelburg
  • Worcester
  • Rustenburg
  • Potchefstroom
  • Klerksdorp

Uber’s lower-cost Uber Go option, which uses entry-level and more fuel-efficient vehicles, is also available in these places, the company said. The traditional UberX service is available, too.

Main Image: techcentral

About Author

Leave A Reply

Follow   Twitter Facebook LinkedIn